The Institute of Directors (IoD) has announced the winners of its Yorkshire and North East Director of the Year Awards 2020.

The winners were unveiled at a virtual awards ceremony, streamed live on 18 November, to an audience of business leaders from across the region.

The Judges’ Special Award went to Nicola Chance-Thompson, CEO of The Piece Hall Trust, Halifax (pictured) Nicola is also a Deputy Lieutenant for West Yorkshire.

Delroy Beverley, IoD Yorkshire and North East regional chair, said: “Congratulations go to all our winners who demonstrated outstanding success in their individual sectors. We were delighted to showcase and celebrate their achievements during our virtual awards ceremony. Innovation, leadership and determination were among the qualities which shone through in our 2020 winners.”

Award winners were announced by this year’s category sponsors: Yorkshire patron CNG Energy; Forward Ladies; Leeds Beckett University and Leeds Business School; and Schroders Personal Wealth. Entries are now being welcome for the IoD’s 2021 awards and this year’s Highly Commended finalists are encouraged to apply.

The 2020 winners are:

Judges’ Special Award – Nicola Chance-Thompson DL, CEO The Piece Hall Trust

Chair’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice – Heidi Mottram, CEO Northumbrian Water

Social Value and Sustainability Impact Joint winners: William Beer, Tunley Engineering, Wakefield and Clair Challenor-Chadwick, Cause UK, Harrogate

Family Business Winner: Brian Stahelin and Abigail Stahelin-Hall, Stafflex Limited, Huddersfield
Highly commended: Jonathan Lupton, Econ Engineering Ltd, Ripon
Atul Malhotra, Malhotra Group PLC, Newcastle upon Tyne

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Winner: Nitin Shukla, Haven Tyneside, Gateshead. Highly commended: David Nikolich, ABSTRACT, York

Innovation Winner: Martin Port, BigChange Limited, Leeds (won CSR Director of the Year in 2018) Highly commended: Paul Smith, Touchstone Education, Doncaster Zandra Moore, Panintelligence, Leeds Adam Hildreth, Crisp, Leeds

International Winner: Ryan Maughan, Avid Technology Ltd, Cramlington
Highly commended: Adam Hildreth, Crisp, Leeds

Non-Executive Winner: Diane Cheesebrough, V4 UK Holdings, Gateshead
Highly commended: Nicola Chance-Thompson DL, The Piece Hall Trust, Halifax

Public Joint winners: Wallace Sampson, Chief Executive of Harrogate Borough Council and Ben Houchen, Tees Valley Mayor

SME Winner: Claire Conlaund, The Skills Network, Selby
Highly commended: Anna Sutton, The Data Shed, Leeds Kenneth Wood, AA Projects Limited, Leeds Dawn Carney, Fresh Pastures & School Milk UK, Wakefield

Start-up Winner: Bethany Ainsley, OptiMe, Billingham

Third Sector Winner: Richinda Taylor, EVA Women's Aid Ltd, Redcar
Highly commended: Charlie Stobbart and Tom Smith, MAP Charity, Leeds
James Cross, Urban Green Newcastle

Young Winner: Grant Nicholson, Planet-U Energy, Leeds
Highly commended: William Beer, Tunley Engineering, Wakefield Laura Hepburn, Greenology, Middlesbrough